German | English

MISSION STATEMENT

HISTORY

The Liechtenstein Institute was founded in 1986 as a private, independent university level research institute, committed to carrying out Liechtenstein-related research in the fields of history, politics, law and economics. In doing so, the Liechtenstein Institute played a pioneering role in the development of Liechtenstein as a centre for research.

ORGANISATION
The Liechtenstein Institute is supported by a non-profit association and also receives funding from public sources. Its main organs are the Members’ General Assembly, the Board of Management, the Director and the Academic Council. This latter is composed predominantly of professors from a number of foreign universities.

NETWORKING

The Liechtenstein Institute has established itself as a research institute with a flourishing network of connections, both national and international. Exchange with other research and educational institutions is just as important as the dialogue with representatives of the political, economic and social spheres. In many of its areas of research the Liechtenstein Institute is the sole academic-scientific institution in Liechtenstein which devotes itself to issues that are of importance for the country and its neighbouring regions.

PRINCIPLES
The Liechtenstein Institute stands out by virtue of its expertise, its independence and its interdisciplinary approach. There is an unqualified commitment to freedom in its research and teaching. The Liechtenstein Institute is likewise committed to the principles of transparency and auditability. With regard to its publications it pursues an Open Access strategy.

REMIT
The research carried out by the Liechtenstein Institute produces new insights and links existing knowledge to the special circumstances of Liechtenstein. This allows the Institute to provide scientifically based answers to core questions relating to the past, present and future of Liechtenstein, its region, and of small states in general.

GOALS
The research findings help the public, both at home and abroad, to better understand Liechtenstein. They foster a cosmopolitan and differentiated self-perception within Liechtenstein and support the sustainable development of the country. The research carried out by the Liechtenstein Institute includes both basic research and applied research aimed at solving specific problems. This research is pursued in longer-term projects which may span several years as well as in shorter studies, interdisciplinary projects and international cooperations.

IMPLEMENTATION
The Liechtenstein Institute realises its goals through research, teaching, publications, contributions to external academic conferences, in-house events, media contributions and international cooperations. Its employees produce studies and offer expert opinions, supervise work on dissertations and diplomas, and educate within the context of professional development and adult further education, as well as at universities and other higher educational institutions. The Institute offers places for PhD students and internships as a contribution to helping young academics in their development. In addition, the Liechtenstein Institute serves as a point of contact for academics from both Liechtenstein and abroad.

 

November 2018

turkish voiceover

Deutsch | Englisch

LEITBILD

GESCHICHTE

Das Liechtenstein-Institut wurde 1986 als privates, unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut auf Hochschulniveau gegründet, um in den Fachbereichen Geschichts-, Politik-, Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften liechtensteinrelevante Forschungsthemen zu bearbeiten. Damit übernahm das Liechtenstein-Institut eine Pionierrolle in der Entwicklung des Forschungsstandorts Liechtenstein.

 

ORGANISATION

Das Liechtenstein-Institut wird von einem gemeinnützigen Verein getragen und öffentlich mitfinanziert. Seine Organe sind die Mitgliederversammlung, der Institutsvorstand, die Direktion und der Wissenschaftliche Rat. Letzterer setzt sich vorwiegend aus Professorinnen und Professoren verschiedener ausländischer Universitäten zusammen.

 

VERNETZUNG

Das Liechtenstein-Institut hat sich als ein national und international gut vernetztes Forschungsinstitut etabliert. Der Austausch mit anderen Forschungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen ist ebenso wichtig wie der Dialog mit Akteuren aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. In vielen seiner Forschungsfelder ist das Liechtenstein-Institut die einzige wissenschaftliche Institution in Liechtenstein, die sich mit Themen befasst, die für das Land und seine Nachbarregionen von Bedeutung sind.

 

GRUNDSÄTZE

Das Liechtenstein-Institut zeichnet sich durch seine Expertise, Unabhängigkeit und Interdisziplinarität aus. Die Freiheit von Forschung und Lehre gilt uneingeschränkt. Darüber hinaus ist das Liechtenstein-Institut den Prinzipien der Transparenz und Überprüfbarkeit verpflichtet und verfolgt im Bereich seiner Publikationen eine Open-Access-Strategie.

 

AUFGABEN

Die Forschung des Liechtenstein-Instituts erbringt neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und verknüpft bestehendes Wissen mit den Besonderheiten Liechtensteins. Damit liefert das Liechtenstein-Institut wissenschaftlich fundierte Antworten auf zentrale Fragen zur Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft Liechtensteins, zur Region und zu Kleinstaaten allgemein.

 

ZIELE

Die aus der Forschungsarbeit gewonnenen Erkenntnisse tragen in der in- und ausländischen Öffentlichkeit zum besseren Verständnis Liechtensteins bei, fördern ein weltoffenes und differenziertes liechtensteinisches Selbstverständnis und unterstützen die nachhaltige Entwicklung Liechtensteins. Die Forschung des Liechtenstein-Instituts umfasst sowohl erkenntnisorientierte Grundlagenforschung als auch problemlösungsorientierte Forschung. Sie erfolgt in Form von mehrjährigen Forschungsprojekten, kürzeren Studien, in interdisziplinären Projekten und internationalen Kooperationen.

 

UMSETZUNG

Das Liechtenstein-Institut verwirklicht seine Ziele durch Forschung, Lehre, Publikationen, Beiträge an externen wissenschaftlichen Tagungen, eigene Veranstaltungen, Medienbeiträge und internationale Zusammenarbeit. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Liechtenstein-Instituts erstellen Gutachten und Studien, betreuen Dissertationen und Diplomarbeiten mit und lehren im Rahmen der beruflichen Weiterbildung, der Erwachsenenbildung sowie an Universitäten und Hochschulen. Zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses werden Doktorandenstellen und Praktikumsplätze angeboten. Überdies dient das Liechtenstein-Institut als Anlaufstelle für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus dem In- und Ausland.

 

November 2018